Our organisation

Our trustees

Ms Libby Gawith

Appointed 2015
(Appointed to Council 2011)

Libby is a Civil engineer who holds a number of roles: Examining Inspector for PINS (National Infrastructure), Non-Executive Director of BIRD, Non-Executive Commission Member for Water Industry Commission for Scotland, Chair of Julian House, Non-Exec Director of the Institute of Rheumatic Diseases and Vice-Chair of the HRH Duke of Edinburgh’s Commonwealth Study Conferences. Libby is also a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers and Member of the Institution of Water and Environmental Management. Libby trained as a civil engineer at King’s College, London and followed this with an MBA from the University of Bath. She has spent her career working in implementation and management of major infrastructure projects in the UK and overseas. She rose to become Engineering and Operations Director for Wessex Water. This was followed by other industrial roles in the UK and overseas, including Managing Director of Earth Tech Europe.

Mr Mark Humphriss

Appointed October 2017

Mark is Diocesan Secretary of the Diocese of Oxford: as such, he has operational responsibility for the staff and finances of one of the largest dioceses in England and is principal strategic adviser to the Bishop of Oxford.

He was previously University Secretary at The University of Bath, where he led the governance function, legal office, international student recruitment, immigration, degree ceremonies, equality and diversity and a variety of other functions as part of the Vice-Chancellor’s senior team.

Mark is also a Trustee of the Holburne Museum and chairs its Nominations Committee.  He is a Fellow of the ICSA: The Governance Institute.

Mr Gordon Richardson

Appointed 2011

Gordon is Vice-Chairman and Trustee of the Bristol Disability Equality Forum and a committee member and disability representative on the Bristol Walking Alliance. He spends the majority of his time doing charitable and voluntary work. He has a BSc in Economics and Accounting from the University of Bristol. He is also a Chartered Accountant (ICAEW) and holds a Financial Practicing Certificate (as an IFA). He has worked for Thomson McLintock & Co (now KPMG) Chartered Accountants and Hargreaves Lansdown Financial Advisers.

Dr Elizabeth White

Appointed 2012

Elizabeth is a Fellow of the Royal College of Occupational Therapists. Whilst working as an occupational therapist in clinical settings, her interests were in the fields of lower limb amputees, wheelchairs and postural management. Her research interests relate to service development and delivery; she completed a PhD in Social Policy at the University of Kent in 1997 and, in 2012, was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Health Sciences by York St John University. Whilst working as Assistant Director – Education and Research at the College of Occupational Therapists, her key remit included a focus on workforce development and building research capacity within the occupational therapy profession. She held a number of strategic roles on behalf of both the occupational therapy profession and the wider Allied Health professions, including acting as Chair of the Council for Allied Health Professions Research Strategy Committee and as a member of the Advisory Board for the National Institute for Health Research School for Social Care Research. She was awarded a Fellowship of the Royal College of Occupational Therapists in 2017 in recognition of her influential work in taking forward the vision of an occupational therapy profession is which practice is evidence-based.

Professor Christos Vasilakis

Appointed 2014

Christos is Director of the University of Bath’s Centre for Healthcare Innovation and Improvement (CHI2), which is focused on solving the practical challenges of health and social care systems using a wide range of quantitative, qualitative and modelling methods. He is also a Professor at the University’s School of Management. He joined Bath in 2013 from the UCL Clinical Operational Research Unit in London. His research focuses on developing and putting in place modelling methods and tools for assisting those delivering and managing health services. He is also interested in the evaluation of the likely impact of healthcare interventions and policy initiatives using computer simulation and has worked on a large number of problems in healthcare ranging from the monitoring of surgical site infections to the organisation of care services such as cardiac surgical care, mental health and others.

Mr Gavin Maggs

Appointed 2016

Gavin is Director of Development and Alumni Relations at the University of Bath. He is responsible for the university’s philanthropic fundraising and alumni relations activities. A graduate of the University of Oxford with an MA in Literae Humaniores, he began his fundraising career at his college, Lincoln, then joined the University of Warwick to lead the development and alumni relations activities of the then recently established Warwick Medical School.

Professor Paul Olomolaiye

Appointed 2017

Paul is a Professor of Construction Engineering and Management at UWE and currently Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean of the Faculty of Environment and Technology. He holds a PhD from Loughborough University in Civil Engineering and is widely published with over 200 journal and conference publications and authorship of 2 major books on Construction Productivity and Stakeholder Management. Paul is passionate about the experiences of staff and students of his 6000 strong faculty which spans Architecture, Engineering, Computer Science and the Environment. He describes his faculty as a large ‘academic space’ for world-class education and research based on cross-subject collaborations and full engagement with the industries that we serve. Paul is happily married with three grown-up children and is active in the community in various charitable activities and organisations.

Mr Martin Bloomfield

Appointed 2018

Martin is the Engineering Manager for the R&D team for Herman Miller International, a world leading global furniture manufacturer. He has a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Nottingham and an MA in Industrial Design Engineering from the Royal College of Art. He is a Chartered Engineer with the Institute of Engineering Designers. Martin’s work experience is broad, from production engineering in the food industry, R&D at Dyson and for a number of years at a London based design consultancy with a large portfolio of global clients.

Ms Mamie Wisker

Appointed 2018

Mamie is a Chartered Accountant and held senior finance roles at the Royal National Hospital for Rheumatic Diseases, Royal United Hospitals Bath, the National Trust and Barclays de Zoete Wedd. Her initial professional training was with Deloitte Haskins & Sells (now PWC) after a BA in Anthropology at the University of Durham. She is a Feldenkrais Practitioner and now runs her own health and wellbeing business.